Learning Statement #1

As a teacher, I need to be informed and  comfortable on many issues and problems facing modern day society.  For example, globalization and the effects of global warming are problems that our future generation will need to urgently address in the coming years.  In order to formulate my opinion on the matter in written words, I decided to make it the topic of my final article at Dawson College.  Inspired by Kip Andersen’s documentary Cowspiracy, I explored the issues behind our populations’ mass consumption of meat and its consequences on future generations.  This article adressed why we, as a society, fear the idea of change and the idea that humans were not anatomically designed to consume meat.

Competency 2: For my message to get accross to my audience, I had to clearly communicate using the language of instruction my opinions on the topic, linking it to information on the topic from different ressources.

Competency 4: To pilot teaching/learning situations that are appropriate to the students concerned and to the subject content with a view to developing the competencies targeted in the programs of study.

(Here is the link to access the article: Packaged at a Price)

Leave a Reply

